• October 6, 2021
  • 1 Comment
  • 4 minutes read

WCQ: Uganda cranes focused to win game against Rwanda

WCQ: Uganda cranes focused to win game against Rwanda

The Uganda Cranes are already in Rwanda for their FIFA World Cup qualifier fixture against the Amavubi Stars of Rwanda.

It’s now nearly beyond the 24-hour day duration for the opening whistle of the eagerly awaited encounter that will see the Uganda Cranes lock horns with the the Amavubi Stars of Rwanda in group E of the FIFA World Cup qualifiers.


Before jetting to Rwanda, the Cranes head coach Milutin Sredejovic’Micho’ named a final 25-man squad for the job against regional rivals; a squad led by the new captain Khalid Aucho who is standing in for Emmanuel Okwi who did not make it to the latest squad given the fact that he is clubless.

Both the guests (Uganda) and hosts (Rwanda) are considering this a chance to attain their first victory in group E with both sides having done not better than just draw; with the Amavubi losing to Mali in the opener and drawing with Kenya at home. In the other side, the Cranes have drawn both away against Kenya and at home against group leaders Mali.

The leader of the group after all pending fixtures shall dust-up with other group leaders in a ten-team play off that shall yield five representatives of the continent in the game’s most prestigious tournament.

Below is the squad that travelled to Rwanda.

Goalkeepers: Isima Bin Rashid Watenga (Chippa United, South Africa), Charles Lukwago (Saint George, Ethiopia), Nafian Alionzi (URA, Uganda)
Defenders: Isaac Muleme (Victoria Zizkov, Czech Republic), Innocent Wafula (KCCA, Uganda), Timothy Dennis Awanyi (Ashdod, Israel), Mustafa Kizza (Montreal Impact, Canada), Livingstone Mulondo (Vipers, Uganda), Abdul Azizi Kayondo (Vipers, Uganda), Enock Walusimbi (Express, Uganda), Fesali Najib (URA, Uganda), Geoffrey Waswa (KCCA, Uganda)
Midfielders: Khalid Aucho (Young Africans, Tanzania – Captain), Moses Waiswa (SuperSport United, South Africa), Tadeo Lwanga (Simba, Tanzania), Ibrahim Orit (Vipers, Uganda), Bobosi Byaruhanga (Vipers, Uganda), Denis Iguma (KCCA, Uganda), Julius Poloto (KCCA, Uganda), Shafik Kuchi Kagimu (URA, Uganda), Martin Kizza (Express, Uganda)
Forwards: Azizi Fahad Bayo (Ashdod, Israel), Yunus Sentamu (Vipers, Uganda), Steven Desse Mukwala (URA, Uganda), Cromwell Rwothomio (URA, Uganda)

The match shall kickoff at 7:00 Pm (Ugandan time) while it will be 6:00 PM at the venue in Rwanda.

Related post

Minister Nandutu Remanded to Luzira

Minister Nandutu Remanded to Luzira

The misuse of iron sheets intended for the residents of the Karamoja sub-region has led to the High Court committing the…
Travel Guide: Best Time to Visit Uganda

Travel Guide: Best Time to Visit Uganda

Welcome to Uganda, the Pearl of Africa! Uganda is a landlocked country located in East Africa, known for its diverse wildlife,…
Minister Nandutu Hands Self to Police

Minister Nandutu Hands Self to Police

Hon. Agnes Nandutu, the Minister of State for Karamoja Affairs, has, at last, turned herself in to the police, who are looking into…


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *